Pregnancy and baby, Weaning

Weaning our baby

Throughout pregnancy and my child’s birth a lot of the guidelines, to me, push mums to do things in a new way.

When I was in the hospital after given birth the midwifes told me that they couldn’t provide bottles of milk as they had to promote breastfeeding. I had to ask my parents to pop to the shop to get me some bottles, I didn’t expect not be in the hospital that long. Then when you look at the website for Cow and Gate you need to accept a disclaimer saying you understand that breast is best but you still want to see the information about formula. Sometimes you might feel a twinge of guilt for choosing to formula feed (which you shouldn’t, you do what works for you!!!)

With this “pushiness” in mind, we are now starting to feed our child food. At about 3 and a half months he would stare at us intensely as we eat. If we teased him with food he would actually try to put it in his mouth. He lost his tongue reflex at 4 months and we decided heck why not.

The guildlines say you must wait 6 months, check with the GP (good luck with that even out of a pandemic) if you want to wean earlier. Well when I was a baby I am sure my parents started to wean me early and it did me no harm. The next huddle we had was trying to find recipes for later in our journey.

When you search for “baby recipes” you get a lot of this baby lead weaning but not much for the traditional weaning.

I believe baby lead is when you head straight to soft food rather than purees with a spoon. My issue is that there are so many resources out there for this weaning style, it’s like they are kind of trying to make mums who done weaning this way feel guilty (this is my personal feeling).

We have decided to do the traditional puree spoon lead weaning, currently on baby porriage, rice and sugar free rusk which he loves. I hope to be able to start sharing the recipes and methods (creating and storing) with you to give you some ideas if you want to break away from the current fashion and do something more traditional.

Leave a comment